Skip to content

Sailor Birthday Outfits

May 28, 2009

IMG_8015Here are the birthday outfits that I talked about awhile back.   I used Chez Ami fabrics and the Oliver and S Sailboat pattern.  For the bottoms I used two different seersuckers, one in blue and one in green.  They are twins, but they need to have their own outfits.  The shirts are a jersey knit.  I’m always scared when sewing knits.  It really isn’t that hard, but since I don’t do it that often it makes me nervous 🙂 

This is a very easy pattern.  There were a couple of things that I changed, though.

I did shorten the sleeves.  It is way too hot of long sleeves.  All I did was fold the sleeve pattern piece to where I wanted it.  To hem, I serged around the sleeve opening and turned up 1/2″.  Then, I topstitched it in place. 

Oliver and S patterns aren’t very serger friendly.  I really love my serger so I just have to use it.  It makes putting the pants together go  a little differently than the instructions, but I think the seams will hold up longer.  This is really important in kids’ clothing.

Like I said, the pattern is easy, and I like it for the most part.  I just wish that it was more serger friendly.  It should have included various sleeve lengths as well.  Sailor outfits scream spring and summer, so it should have had short sleeve variations. I think the boys’ and their mom will be pleased.

It is a good thing they wear the same size as Sid so that we could get modeled shots 🙂

IMG_8017

IMG_8022

IMG_8031

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 29, 2009 12:52 pm

    I love all the goodness that happens over here..you go girl.

Leave a Reply

