Skip to content

Emma Swing Top

June 5, 2009

IMG_8042I’m always searching for new patterns to make, and I find a great many of these on YCMT.  I had a request to make a top to match the custom skirt that I made.  So, of course, I went looking for the right top for the skirt.  I found the Emma Swing Top by Bella Marie Boutique. I love it.  It is the perfect summer shirt, and it will transition well to fall and winter…just slip a shirt underneath.  I think it works perfectly with this skirt.  The pattern could be a little complicated for beginner sewers, but intermediate and advanced shouldn’t have a difficult time.  Some of the numbered sections were numbered wrong.  There were a couple of places that seemed to have something left off.  But, for the most part it is a really great pattern.  I recommend it if you are looking for something cute for the hot weather.  I added a little embroidery to the front of mine.  There is a large area for embellishing.  It would be the perfect spot for a really cute applique.  I love the top; I just hope the buyer does too.

IMG_8046

IMG_8050
IMG_8053

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 4:12 am

    This top is really cute. I love the details like the ruffle on the bottom and on the straps. The look is very crisp and pretty with the skirt.

  2. June 5, 2009 7:05 am

    I have been eying that shirt pattern. were the instructions easy? Yours is beautiful!

  3. June 5, 2009 10:46 am

    I don’t even have the words to describe how cute that is!

  4. June 5, 2009 5:08 pm

    Very cute! Love both pieces! Great job!

  5. June 6, 2009 3:27 pm

    Hey Mellissa, Will you show a full sized picture of your skirt with the Emma Swing top?? I bought that pattern a couple of weeks ago and have yet to make it… I have a bit of fabric/pattern addiction….. I’m getting ready to make my girls the skirt from your new pattern and maybe an Emma top too…. I’m saving the Skants for fall….It’s WAY TOO HOT down here in southern Bama for that now, but I have BIG plans for them this fall… Can’t wait to see what your new patterns look like!

  6. June 6, 2009 5:30 pm

    Here’s a link to as full length a shot as I have. I hope it helps.

    IMG_8039

    You could also make the skort version in the skants pattern. That wouldn’t be too hot! Remember to put your photos in the flickr group so that I can see what you make 🙂

  7. francisbel permalink
    November 9, 2009 10:30 am

    Hi I just try to work with this partterns and I be stop when I try to attach the band, for the past 3 days try and try but don’t look good……

  8. November 14, 2009 3:11 am

    I just wanted to tell you what a beautiful job you did with my pattern! Your stitching is PERFECTION. I was glad to find your blog. Have a Happy Day :).

    Wendy

Leave a Reply

