Skip to content

Meet Susannah of Art Nest Shop

July 1, 2009

feature pic 1

 

I want to introduce you to a very talented artist, Susannah of Art Nest.  You may remember my post about my recent purchase from her shop.  I just had to ask her to do an interview for us, and she was gracious enough to comply.  I highly, highly recommend visiting her shop…you will not be disappointed!

picture for feature1) Introduce Yourself.

Bonjour!
My name is Susannah and I’m the artist behind Art Nest.  I’m married to my high school sweet heart, we have three children ages seven, five, and two.  Aside from working on art, I help my mother run an eatery in our quirky southern town, and just recently have been accepted into nursing school. 

2)How long have you been crafting?

I have always had creative tendencies.  I’ve been crafting ’seriously’ for two years.  I bought a starter sewing machine 2 years ago at Wal-Mart for $42.00 and I am still using it today.   On the evening the sewing machine came home, I sat at the dining room table with Wendy Mullin’s Sew U at my side and just stared at the machine.  This happened every night for a week.  I’m still not sure what I was afraid of!

3)What is your favorite craft?

Ah, this is a trick question I think!  I’ve tried to incorporate all of my crafts so that there is an element of each one in everything I do.  I will list, in no particular order: sewing, block printing and painting.  I like to work on everything all at once – My messy studio reflects my crafting mood swings! 
4)When did you decide to go into business?

My cousin and best friend, Sarah (www.sarahridgley.etsy.com), encouraged me to open an Etsy shop. She showed me around and answered any questions I had.  Now that I am comfortable with my online shop, I really enjoy helping some of my friends who are new to Etsy.  I’ve tried Big Cartel and Ebay, but I really fit in with Etsy. 

5)Where did the inspiration come from that sparked the pincushion ring?

The inspiration for my pincushion rings came out of  need.  As I sat at my machine, I would pull out my pins and then have to search for my pincushion that was usually on the opposite side of the desk or buried under a sea of fabric.  This was so irritating to me that I started sketching ideas for a pincushion that would attach to my machine.   One idea led to another, and I started sketching ideas for the pincushion rings.  I knew I wanted to use fabrics that made me happy and I had tons of wool felt in stock.  The whole thing just happened, like magic!
I was completely uninfluenced as to how pincushion rings should look, materials to use,  or if I was making them ‘right or wrong‘.  Now, I’m not the first person to create pincushion rings, but I will say that I’ve never seen any others  like mine.  Art Nest’s pincushion rings are truly unique and one of a kind!

6)Do you have any future plans that you would like to share for your business?

I am slowly working on some sewing patterns for the shop and am writing and sketching ideas for a book that I would love to have published.   You will find some new items at Art Nest such as my needle nests, wristlets, and a fawn stuffie pattern. 

feature pic 2

I would also like to add that I am very active on Etsy.  I visit the forums and chat rooms and try to highlight some of my favorite shops on Twitter everyday (www.twitter.com/artnest).  I strive to take the best pictures I can and it’s important to me that all my items have the Art Nest feel.  I’ve also spent some money  advertising on popular blogs.  Advertising added to the traffic flow of my shop.   I would recommend Kathleen’s Grosgrain blog (www.grosgrainfabulous.blogspot.com) for fairly inexpensive advertising.  You will get lots of bang for your buck!

I also blog and have recently joined the Purl Beehive.  Come visit me there:  www.anartnest.squarespace.com

7) Are you having any specials or giveaways that you would like to tell us about?

I am thankful for Mellissa for asking me to do this interview and I would like to offer her readers 10% off their purchase* at Art Nest until end of July.  In your notes to seller, please type: wonder mommy .
*You will need to wait for me to invoice you so that you can get your 10% off.  If you pay right away, I cannot change the price!!!

 

Thank you very much for doing this interview.  I really appreciate all of your time and effort.  It was nice getting to know more about you and your shop!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 2:06 am

    This interview was a joy to do – Thanks again Mellissa!

    Susannah @ art nest

  2. becky permalink
    July 1, 2009 6:16 pm

    You are so creative. This was a fun read and inspirational!

  3. July 16, 2009 6:17 pm

    As part of the creation of this amazing artist Susannah(Mother)I am thrilled with her creativity and art…So are both of her Fathers!

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    August 9, 2009 2:03 pm

    An interesting interview. I really enjoy reading susannah’s blog and visiting her etsy shop. I always find something to fall in love with!

Leave a Reply

