Skip to content

Ask Wondermommy

July 2, 2009

askwondermommysmall

I didn’t have any questions last week, so I’ll answer one that I’ve been asked before.  What kind of camera do you own?

I have a Canon 20D.  I’ve had it for quite some time now.  I got it when it was first on the market.  It isn’t state of the art anymore, but it gets that job done!

I’ve heard complaints about the weight of it, but I personally don’t have a problem with it.  The weight issues are outweighed by the features. I’ve canonalways had a canon camera and probably always will.  I love them, and my lenses will just transfer from one body to the next.

I have two lenses right now.  I’m saving up to get a telephoto.  I really need one.  Hopefully, by Christmas I’ll have one!  The two lenses I have are the zoom that came with the camera 18-55mm and the 50mm lense that I purchased.  The 50 is what I use most of the time.  It has a 1.8 aperture.  It works really well for most of the shooting that I do.  It does extremely well in low light situations. 

I’ve also been asked if I’ve taken any photography classes.  The answer is no.  I’m self-taught.  That’s why not all of my photos look really great 🙂  I’m still learning.  I would love to take a class in the future.  I’ve read books, my camera manual, websites, and experimented a lot.  Experimentation really is the key!

I have a background stand and a large roll of white paper backdrop.  You’ve seen pictures that I’ve taken with this background.  The skants samples are the best with it.  I love white backgrounds, but there are so many paper and muslin colors to choose from out there.  Most of the time, though, I just find a nice looking spot and snap the shots.

 

IMG_7710pshopIMG_5696
IMG_3459IMG_3148

 

 I think clothing looks better modeled, but sometimes you just have to use a dummy or hanger.  Try not to pose your subjects just let the natural happen.  I never pose Miss Sid or Conner…I just let them react to the environment and I end up with great end results.

I have a lighting kit, but I rarely use it.  I much prefer to use natural lighting.  If I’m taking pro looking shots, I will pull out my fold up reflector to get the sun on dark parts of a subject, but most times I just find a well lit spot a shoot.  Lighting is the most important element to taking great shots.  Full on sun is way too harsh for good photos.  You need to find a bright spot with diffused lighting like a well lit room or a front porch.  I took the skants shots in my garage with the door up.  This worked out really well.

I do have some help when my photos don’t turn out their best.  You can salvage them with a program like Photoshop.  I use Photoshop all of the time.  It really is a powerful program that can help make good photos great!

For a look at my best work, go to:  http://honeypilar.eyefetch.com or http://www.flickr.com/photos/wondermommy/.

I’m not an expert at Photography, but this is just how I take my pictures.  I hope it helps some of you out there.

 

If you have any questions you want answered, leave them in the comments section and I’ll do my best to answer them next week.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2009 10:08 am

    Love the hoodie! Where did you get the pattern for that?

  2. July 4, 2009 11:55 am

    Wow, congratulations! How exciting.

Leave a Reply

