Skip to content

Lightning Story

July 20, 2009

So, I thought I would tell you the whole story.  There was a bad storm that came through here on the 12th, of course, lightning hit really close to the house.  It ran in and blew out one of my best friends…my Kenmore sewing machine.  This set off the fire alarm in the house and because it was also struck it wouldn’t go off.  So, at 2 am we are running all over the house checking for damage and trying to get the alarm shut off.  We finally had to just pull the damaged detector from the ceiling…they are hard wired in our house. 

We slowly found other damage.  The phone lines were blown.  Our garage door opener zapped.  And, the worst thing possible in the middle of July…our air compressor was damaged.  So, it was really hot around here for a few days.  The directv dish was also pretty damaged.  We have gotten most of the things fixed.  Garage door opener still needs to be installed.  Oh yeah, It also blew the sprinkler controls, so those will have to be replaced. 

It was a wild and crazy week…which I did not need.  Needless to say, all of the sewing that I had planned did not get accomplished.  Thank goodness my new babylock was unplugged and my serger was untouched.  Also, my computer was unharmed! 

I would just like to take a minute and thank the Lord that our house did not catch on fire.  As bad as it was, it could have been worse.  It’ll take me a week or two to catch up around here, but it will happen.  Stay patient with me, and we’ll be crafting again soon enough 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 3:32 pm

    yikes! I’m glad that you all were okay, it must suck to have to fix so much though

  2. July 20, 2009 11:45 pm

    WOW! So sorry about the Kenmore. But, you’re right, it could have been a lot worse! Glad you are mostly back in action.

  3. July 25, 2009 6:16 pm

    Our power was out for 10.5 hours with that storm! Almost ruined our freezer food. And we’ve had 2 tv’s blown from storms in the last year! We now are careful to plug in to surge protectors! 🙂 Sorry about all the damage! Storms can be really nasty in HSV.

Leave a Reply

