Skip to content

Charm Skirt: Day 5

November 4, 2009

Yes, We are finally sewing again! I want to apologize for leaving you in the middle of a sew-a-long. My break was good and it was much-needed. Now, I’m returning refreshed and ready for action.

Let’s review where we’ve been:

Day 1
23040PP

 
Day 2

IMG_8611

Day 3

IMG_8613

Day 4

IMG_8676

 Day 5

Today, we are going to join our basque pieces and our ruffle pieces.  Then, we are going to finish the bottom edge of the ruffle.

First, take your two basque (waistband) pieces.  Place them right sides together.  I serged them together, but if you have a regular sewing machine, stitch then zig zag over the edges.  Do this to both sides.  You should have a completed ring.

Next, find the top side of the waistband and finish the edge.  I serged around the circle.  If you have a regular machine, simple zig zag around the outer edge.  Make sure that your side seams are pressed toward the back of the waistband.

Here’s what you should have:

  

IMG_9010

Here is a close up of one of the edges and the upper edge of the waistband.

IMG_9015

Take all of your ruffle pieces and put them in one spot.  Take two of the pieces and match short edges.  Sew these together.  I serged them together.  Keep doing this until your ruffle pieces make a ring.  Make sure all of the edges are finished by either serging or zig zag stitching.

Press them all in the same direction.

IMG_9032

Now, it is time to finish the bottom edge of your ruffle.  Locate what you wish to be the bottom edge.  If you have a serger, I suggest doing a rolled hem.  If you only have a regular sewing machine, you may: a)  zig zag around the entire bottom of the ruffle and turn up once, press in place and stitch  or b) You may turn up the raw edge twice and press in place and stitch.  The amount you want to turn up is really your choice.  I would probably turn them up about a 1/4″ to a 1/2″ each time.

Here is a looked at my finished rolled edge:

IMG_9020

Now, you are ready to complete our next step.  Day 6 will probably come next week.  This will give all of the newcomers time to catch up.  Here’s a look at my ruffle at this stage of the sew-a-long.  It is hard to get a picture of the entire thing laid out 🙂

IMG_9035

Remember, if you have any questions…please leave them in the comments section.  I’ll get back to you with the answers.  Happy Sewing!  It is good to be back crafting with all of you again!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 4:31 am

    Hi there! I just stumbled upon your blog this evening and wanted to tell you that I think it’s so cute! I love finding ‘project’ blogs because they always give me inspiration!

    I’ve added you to my blogroll!

    Nice to ‘meet’ you!

    Miss V

Leave a Reply

