Skip to content

Owl and Pussycat Bags

February 20, 2010

IMG_0780Like most patterns, I’ve had this sitting in my pattern stash and have been wanting to find time to make these for quite some time.  I’m trying to work through my pattern stash as well as my fabric stash during stash busters.

This is a Melly and Me pattern, The Owl and The Pussycat.  It is just the custest thing and works up so quickly.  My daughter loves them.  Even though I made them up for my daughter, they could be made using different fabric for a little boy.  My son loves bags to stuff things into as much as Miss Sid.

The pattern was very easy to follow and worked up pretty quickly.  I did the hand embroidery while waiting in the car for my son to be released from school.  So, that really didn’t take too much time out of my life.

I decided to add my daughter’s name to the back of both bags.  I thought it was the perfect place to add a little personalization.  There are so many ways to personalize these patterns by use of fabric, embroider, and buttons.

I did change one thing about the pattern.  I was supposed to use two fabrics for the main part of the cat’s head, but I decided to use just one.  Instead of sewing the strips together and cutting out the head, I just cut the head out of one fabric. 

I have to say Amy Schimler’s fabric was perfect for the owl, and now Sid has a bag to match her new dress!

IMG_0795

IMG_0804  IMG_0781

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

